It is illegal in South Carolina for a person to have in his or her possession any beer or wine in an open container in a moving vehicle of any kind while located on the public highways or highway, except in the truck or luggage compartment.
For purposes of the South Carolina open container law, beer or wine means any beer or wine containing one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume.
Violation of the South Carolina open container law is a misdemeanor offense in South Carolina and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than $100 or jailed not more than 30 days.
Any alcohol related offense in South Carolina is taken seriously, even open container tickets. If you are facing charges of open container, it is in your best interest to contact our office today.