Fake I.D. Defense
South carolina Fake I.D. Defense Lawyers
Did you ever have that friend in high school who got a fake ID or knew someone who could make fake IDs? Perhaps that friend never got caught and so you thought it wouldn’t be a big deal to get your own fake ID, especially since you’d be going away to college. Except, you did get caught. We aren’t here to judge because we were young once and may have had a good friend or acquaintance who had a fake ID.
Fortunately, it doesn’t have to be the end of the world if you get in trouble with the law for having a fraudulent ID. We just recommend that you call one of our Charleston, SC defense lawyers with experience handling fake ID cases so you can avoid harsh penalties.
Fake ID Defense Lawyer in Charleston, South Carolina
We understand that your education and future employment may be impacted negatively if this ends up on your record. That’s why it’s especially imperative that you make it a priority to discuss this matter with an attorney at Crantford Meehan who is well-versed on fake ID laws and knows how this situation would affect your present and future plans.
Students attending University of South Carolina, Art Institute of Charleston, or other nearby colleges can rest easy knowing they have our stellar legal team on their side to secure favorable outcomes for our clients who have been charged with possessing or using a fake ID.
Punishment for Selling a Fake ID
You are either looking at being charged with a misdemeanor or felony, depending on what type of fake ID you have and how you use it. Most states’ fake ID misdemeanor charges can carry a penalty of up to 12 months in jail while felony charges carry a maximum penalty of 10 years in state prison. It is, however, highly unlikely that you would receive significant jail time unless this is not your first fake ID offense, or you have a history of other criminal offenses already on your record. A conviction on a fake ID charge can often result in suspension of your driver’s license.
Under South Carolina’s Statute 56-01-515, it is unlawful for any person to alter a motor vehicle driver’s license to provide false information on the license or to sell or issue a fictitious driver’s license. Anyone in violation of the provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction must be fined up to two thousand five hundred dollars and/or imprisoned for up to six months.
It is also unlawful for any person to use a motor vehicle driver’s license not issued to the person. Any person who violates the provisions of this is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction must be fined up to one hundred dollars or imprisoned for up to thirty days.
In situations where one is caught using a relative’s ID, the prosecutor has to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you intended to use that person’s license for an unlawful purpose, such as purchasing alcohol, because it is not illegal to possess the ID or driver’s license of someone else. Fortunately for you, it is quite challenging for a prosecutor to prove your intentions were illegal.
What happens if you get caught using a fake ID
If you were to get caught using a fake ID, your ID will typically be taken away by the person who has asked to check your ID. Say this happened as you tried to enter a 21 and over establishment. Well, that ID would go into a pile of other fake IDs collected throughout the evening, which will then be turned over to the police.
If your fake ID is a fictitious or fraudulent document with your photo and your real information except your age, it’s possible you could get in pretty serious legal trouble. If you are caught using someone else’s ID, what happens is that you would get slapped with a misdemeanor.
What do police do with confiscated fake IDs
If a police officer physically confiscated the ID, it will be placed into evidence for a potential criminal case to be used in a future court hearing. Once a fake ID is taken and given to police, it is catalogued for law enforcement to identify trends among fakes as technology becomes savvier.
It’s in the establishment’s best interest to thoroughly check for fake IDs as police officers can write a citation with hefty fines for the establishment caught giving minors access to booze, even if unintentionally.
Minor in Possession of False ID
In the state of South Carolina, as is the law in most states, a person under 21 years of age is not allowed to possess, attempt to purchase or actually purchase alcohol, which is why many college students get a fake ID to begin with. Charges for a minor in possession can be more serious if the minor was using a fake ID to purchase alcohol.
Choose Crantford Meehan
As a college student, it may seem like you have the world on your shoulders and you are under a lot of pressure to do well in school while still balancing your personal life. Unfortunately, even a decision like getting and using a fake ID, as harmless as it may seem, can have you facing consequences including losing a scholarship, academic disciplinary actions such as suspension from the university and a criminal record which can make finding a job difficult. Our team at Crantford Meehan is dedicated to helping each and every client in Charleston, SC. If you are facing fake ID charges, do not hesitate to get in touch with one of our talented criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible.
Having worked on many fake ID cases from Charleston and surrounding areas, we are more than capable of securing the best results you can get for your particular case. Let us sit down with for a free consultation to help you win your case.
Schedule A free consultation 24/7
Contact us now
Awards and Accolades